

200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700, Baltimore, Maryland 21202 410-468-2000 1-800-492-6116 TTY: 1-800-735-2258 www.insurance.maryland.gov

## **Notice of Continuation Rights After Divorce**

You and your dependent child may be eligible under Maryland law to continue to be covered by your former spouse's group health insurance policy if:

- You and your spouse divorce, and
- You were covered under the spouse's group hospital-medical policy or a health maintenance organization (HMO) for at least 30 days prior to the divorce, and
- You do not now have other similar insurance.

If you wish to continue your health coverage, you or your former spouse *MUST* give your spouse's employer written notice no later than 60 days after the divorce.

**IMPORTANT:** You or your former spouse will be responsible for paying the entire cost of your continuation coverage.

For further information about the program, you should contact your former spouse's employer, or if necessary telephone the Maryland Insurance Administration at 1-800-492-6116. There is also more detailed information about Continuation Rights on the Maryland Insurance Administration website at <a href="https://www.insurance.maryland.gov">www.insurance.maryland.gov</a>.

THIS NOTICE APPLIES TO STATE LAW. YOU MAY HAVE BROADER BENEFITS UNDER FEDERAL LAW.