

200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700, Baltimore, Maryland 21202 410-468-2000 1-800-492-6116 TTY: 1-800-735-2258 www.insurance.maryland.gov

## Notice of Continuation Rights for a Surviving Spouse

You and other members of your family may be eligible under Maryland law to continue to be covered by the group health insurance policy of your deceased spouse's employer if:

- Your spouse was covered by his or her employer's plan under a group hospital-medical policy or a health maintenance organization (HMO) for at least three months prior to his or her death.
- You were covered under this same plan for at least 30 days prior to his or her death, and
- You do not now have other similar insurance.

If you wish to continue your health coverage, you *MUST* give your deceased spouse's employer written notice no later than 45 days after the death of your spouse.

**IMPORTANT:** You will be responsible for paying the entire cost of the health insurance policy.

For further information about the program, you should contact your deceased spouse's employer, or if necessary telephone the Maryland Insurance Administration at 1-800-492-6116. There is also more detailed information about Continuation Rights on the Maryland Insurance Administration website at <u>www.insurance.maryland.gov</u>.

## THIS NOTICE APPLIES TO STATE LAW. YOU MAY HAVE BROADER BENEFITS UNDER FEDERAL LAW.